My Mobile Photography Journey and Tips

Taking great photos with your smartphone depends purely on the way you look at the piece of art in front of you. Your laptop, earphones, pet or even a cup of coffee can be used as objects for photography. It just depends on the way you look at it. A straight linear way of clicking photos isn’t attractive always.

I started developing interests in smartphone photography right from my HTC M7. It wasn’t a great smartphone camera but its Ultra-pixel camera feature wasn’t that crummy. When I then shifted to iPhone 5s, it felt like a huge leap in photography right from the simple interface to the quality images that it produced. It was just a 8 MP camera but was definitely the best amongst other even higher megapixel camera phones. Apple’s software that goes in image processing is definitely well ahead of many similarly priced smartphones. It creates a true to life colour image and doesn’t create that artificially over saturated images which many smartphone companies call “outstanding pictures”.

The best part of iPhone 5s is that its really handy and helps click pictures much at ease. I started clicking photos of objects inside my home and then tried macrophotography with flowers in my garden. Tried clicking flowers with the backdrop of sun rays, and tried exploring the apt lighting conditions that would yield the best out of an image.

Though I missed the handiness of 5s, upgrading to iPhone 6 was impactful in terms of the image quality and the larger screen size. Majority of my skills in photography, I’ve explored through my iPhone 6 camera.

The tips I usually follow while taking pics in my smartphone are :

  • ANGLE : I make sure I don’t take pictures in a straight linear “angle” (unless I feel its really good or gives that creative feel). Giving that slight tilt or getting down or a tad higher can result in much better images. 7.JPG
  • SHOOTING MODE: I shoot pictures with HDR mode on auto as iPhone’s software image processing is truer to life and eye pleasing. Never use your flash unless its really necessary. 2.JPG
  • EXPOSURE/AF LOCK: It actually depends on your personal taste. Exposure depends on the lighting conditioning and your own take on the level of light you want “in” a picture. Its better not to change these settings unless needed. Better to lock your focus on objects which you want to completely focus, which gives that slightly blurry background vision, especially when you click image of a single flower in a large garden.6.JPG
  • EXPERIMENT: Keep experimenting. Try clicking photos at various angles and lightings. Experimentation leads to better images.  Click images of your daily meal, objects that are in front you, your dog and anything and everything that you don’t even think of.3.jpg
  • Filters: Try avoid using filters, unless it is really necessary. Necessary in the sense if you need to add brightness, exposure or contrast, and not those prismatic kind of feel. Natural images are always the true indicators of your photographic skills.4.JPG
  • SELFIE TIPS: Try using your apple earphones for clicking selfies. It gives a handsfree mode of clicking photos. It also helps at times when you need to cover much wider field.

So, in general, a smartphone camera plays 50% role in creating a good image, and the rest depends on your level of creativity. Start experimenting and innovating mobile photography! Cheers!

Check my Instagram profile if you want to see more of my clicks. There are pictures which I’ve clicked with my Nikon D3300, do check them and let me know your comments on them as well.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

